Skip to main content
The European High Performance Computing Joint Undertaking (EuroHPC JU)

Research & Innovation Advisory Group (RIAG)

The Research and Innovation Advisory Group (RIAG) is one of two Advisory Groups of the Industrial and Scientific Advisory Board and it shall consist of no more than twelve members, whereof no more than six shall be appointed by the Private Members, and no more than six shall be appointed by the Governing Board. Moreover, the RIAG may include up to six observers proposed by Participating States and appointed by the Governing Board.

This Advisory Group:

  • draws up and regularly update the draft multiannual strategic research and innovation agenda of the EuroHPC JU. This draft agenda identifies research and innovation priorities to support the development of an integrated HPC, quantum computing and data ecosystem in the European Union;
  • provides advice on potential international cooperation activities in research and innovation;
  • issues recommendations to promote training and education priorities for addressing key competences and the skills gap in HPC and quantum computing technologies and applications, in particular for industry;
  • organises public consultations open to all public and private stakeholders having an interest in the fields of HPC and quantum computing to inform them and collect feedback.


RIAG Members

Jean-Philippe Nominé (Chair)

French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (CEA)

Thomas Lippert (Vice-Chair)

Jülich Supercomputing Centre (JSC)

Mateusz Tykierko

Wroclaw Centre for Networking and Supercomputing

Martin Danek

DAITEQ s.r.o.

Are Magnus Bruaset

SIMULA Research Lab

Barbara Krašovec

SLING (Slovenian National Supercomputing Network)

Mateo Valero

Barcelona Supercomputing Center (BSC)

Axel Auweter

MEGWARE, Computer Vertrieb und Service GmbH

Daniele Cesarini

CINECA (Interuniversity Consortium for Automatic Computing in North Eastern Italy)

María S. Perez-Hernandez

Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (UPM) 

Jeanette Nilsson

Research Institutes of Sweden AB (RISE)

Benno Broer


RIAG Observers

Gunilla Svensson

Stockholm University

Jesse Robbers

Quantum Delta NL

Cevdet Aykanat

Bilkent University

Marco Aldinucci

Torino University

Estela Suarez

Jülich Supercomputing Centre (JSC)

Catherine Lambert

Centre Européen de Recherche et de Formation Avancée en Calcul Scientifique (CERFACS)

Pascale Rosse-Laurent

Atos SE

Hugo Falter

ParTec AG

Martin Palkovic

European Centre for Medium Range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF)

Harald Schöning

Software AG

Bruno Taketani