

# DECISION OF THE GOVERNING BOARD OF THE EuroHPC JOINT UNDERTAKING No 5/2019

## on the appointment of the members of the Research and Innovation Advisory Group

THE GOVERNING BOARD OF THE EuroHPC JOINT UNDERTAKING (hereinafter 'EuroHPC JU'),

Having regard to Council Regulation (EU) 2018/1488 of 28 September 2018 establishing the EuroHPC Joint Undertaking<sup>1</sup> (hereinafter 'Regulation'), and the EuroHPC Joint Undertaking Statutes annexed thereto (hereinafter 'Statutes'),

Having regard to in particular Articles 10, 11 and 13 of the Statutes defining the composition, the functioning and tasks of the Research and Innovation Advisory Group (hereinafter referred to as 'RIAG') respectively,

Having regard to the Governing Board Decision No 5/2018 of 6 November 2018 on the Criteria and Selection Process for the Composition of the RIAG,

#### WHEREAS:

- (1) The RIAG shall consist of no more than twelve members, whereof no more than six shall be appointed by the Private Members the ETP4HPC and BDVA Associations, and no more than six shall be appointed by the Governing Board.
- (2) The Governing Board has established the specific criteria and selection process for the members it appoints the RIAG by its Decision No 5/2018 of 6 November 2018.
- (3) The members of the RIAG should be selected on the broadest possible geographical basis from among nationals of Participating States representing European interests and without distinction as to racial or ethnic origin, political, philosophical or religious beliefs, age or disability, gender or sexual orientation and without reference to their marital status or family situation. A sectorial, geographic and gender balance among the members of the RIAG should be ensured.
- (4) The members of RIAG should be recognised experts in the areas of expertise relevant to the tasks of the RIAG. The composition of the RIAG should reflect a balanced representation of the different areas of expertise required to perform the tasks of the advisory group.
- (5) On the basis of the results of the adopted selection process provided and presented by the Executive Director, the Governing Board shall appoint the Members of the RIAG and establish a reserve list.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> OJ L 252, 08.10.2018, p. 1-34

(6) The outcome of the process was presented to the Governing Board by the Executive Director ad Interim on 14 February for final decision.

## HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

#### Article 1

1. The following six (6) candidates are selected to constitute the members of the Research and Innovation Advisory Group ('RIAG') of the EuroHPC Joint Undertaking:

1.	Dr	Tomi	Ilijaš	Arctur	SI
2.	Dr	Catherine	Lambert	CERFACS	FR
3.	Prof.	Thomas	Lippert	JSC	DE
4.	Prof.	Elisa	Molinari	Modena & Reggio Emilia University	IT
5.	Prof.	Kenneth	Ruud	Arctic University of Norway	NO
6.	Dr	Mateo	Valero	BSC	ES

- 2. In accordance to Article 5 (2) of Governing Board Decision No 5/2018 of 6 November 2018 the Members of the RIAG are appointed for the first term for a 2 year period and shall remain in office until the new members are appointed.
- 3. Upon recommendation by the Executive Director, the Governing Board may decide to renew their appointment for a new 2 year term.

## Article 2

1. The following five (5) candidates are selected to constitute the reserve list of the Research and Innovation Advisory Group ('RIAG) of the EuroHPC Joint Undertaking:

1.	Prof.	Mario	Kovac	Zagreb University	HR
2.	Prof.	Luis	Silva	Lisbon University	PT
3.	Dr	Joost	VandeVondele	CSCS, ETHZ	BE
4.	Prof.	Erik	Lindhal	Stockholm University	SE
5.	Prof.	Marek	Michalewicz	ICM, Warsaw University	PL

2. The established reserve list shall be valid for the duration of the term of the appointed INFRAG members.

#### Article 3

This decision shall enter into force upon its adoption.

Done at Luxembourg, 14 February 2019.

For the Governing Board

[signed]

Patrick Garda

The Chair