

# DECISION OF THE GOVERNING BOARD OF THE EuroHPC JOINT UNDERTAKING No 3/2022

### on the appointment of the members of the Infrastructure Advisory Group

THE GOVERNING BOARD OF THE EuroHPC JOINT UNDERTAKING (hereinafter 'EuroHPC JU'),

Having regard to Council Regulation (EU) 2021/1173 of 13 July 2021 on establishing the European High Performance Computing Joint Undertaking and repealing Regulation (EU) 2018/1488<sup>1</sup>, (hereinafter, "the Regulation"), and the EuroHPC Joint Undertaking Statutes annexed thereto (hereinafter 'Statutes'),

Having regard to in particular Articles 10, 12 and 14 of the Statutes defining the composition, the functioning and tasks of the Infrastructure Advisory Group (hereinafter referred to as 'INFRAG') respectively,

Having regard to the Governing Board Decision No 3/2018 of 6 November 2018 on the Criteria and Selection Process for the Composition of the Infrastructure Advisory Group, as readopted by Governing Board Decision 17/2021 of 30 September,

#### WHEREAS:

- (1) The Governing Board has established the specific criteria and selection process for the Composition of the INFRAG by its Decision No 3/20018 of 6 November 2018.
- (2) The Infrastructure Advisory Group should consist of no more than twelve members.
- (3) The members of the INFRAG should be selected on the broadest possible geographical basis from among nationals of Participating States representing European interests and without distinction as to racial or ethnic origin, political, philosophical or religious beliefs, age or disability, gender or sexual orientation and without reference to their marital status or family situation. A sectorial, gender, and a broad geographical balance among the members of the INFRAG should be ensured.
- (4) The members of INFRAG should be recognised experts in the areas of expertise relevant to the tasks of the INFRAG and the composition of the INFRAG should reflect a balanced representation of the different areas of expertise required to perform the tasks of the

-

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> OJ L 256, 19.7.2021, p. 3-51

- advisory group.
- (5) On the basis of the results of the adopted selection process provided and presented by the Executive Director, the Governing Board shall appoint the Members of the INFRAG and establish a reserve list.
- (6) The outcome of the process was presented to the Governing Board by the Executive Director during the 26<sup>th</sup> Governing Board meeting where the Governing Board has agreed to appoint the members of the INFRAG and

## HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

#### Article 1

1. The following twelve (12) candidates are selected to constitute the members of the INFRAG of the EuroHPC JU:

INFRAG MEMBERS				
Member Selected	Organisation	Proposed by:	Nationality	
Branislav Jansík	IT4Innovations	Czech Republic	Czech Republic	
Sanzio Bassini	CINECA	Italy	Italy	
Minna Palmroth	Univ. Helsinki	Finland	Finland	
Stephane Requena	GENCI	France	France	
Claus Axel Müller	GCS	Germany	Germany	
Sinéad M. Ryan	Trinity College	Ireland	Ireland	
Gunnar Bøe	Uninett Sigma2	Norway	Norway	
Erwin Laure	MPCDF	European Commission	Austria	
Pedro Almeida		Portugal		
Alberto	Univ. Coimbra		Portugal	
Norbert Meyer	PSNC	Poland	Poland	
Nuria López	ICIQ	Spain	Spain	
Peter Hans Michielse	SURF BV	Netherlands	Netherlands	

- 2. In accordance to Article 5(2) of Governing Board Decision No 3/20018 of 6 November 2018 the Members of the INFRAG are appointed for the first term for a two (2) year period and shall remain in office until the new members are appointed.
- 3. Upon recommendation by the Executive Director, the Governing Board may decide to renew their appointment for a new two (2) year term.

## Article 2

1. The following six (6) candidates are selected to constitute the reserve list of the Infrastructure Advisory Group (INFRAG) of the EuroHPC JU:

INFRAG RESERVE LIST				
Member reserve list	Organisation	Proposed by:	Nationality	
Feyza Eryol	Tübitak Ulakbim	Turkey	Turkey	
Dejan Valh	IZUM	Slovenia	Slovenia	
Gabriella Scipione	CINECA	European Commission	Italy	
Sergi Girona	BSC	Spain	Spain	
Pekka Manninen	CSC	Finland/Sweden	Finland	
Göran Wendin	Chalmers Univ. of technology	Sweden	Sweden	

2. The established reserve list shall be valid for the duration of the term of the appointed INFRAG members.

Article 3

This decision shall enter into force upon its adoption.

Done at Luxembourg, 10 March 2022.

For the Governing Board

[signed]

Herbert Zeisel

The Chair